Songs For A New World: Reason For A New Blog Post

Ahoy, hoy boys & girls.  I’m starting this blog post at 5:30 Ante Meridian (for those of you who don’t speak Latin that means “covered in cheese”) because I’m so excited I can’t sleep.  As I have mentioned in previous blog posts I recently auditioned for Harvest Rain Theatre Company & they liked me… they really liked me.  So much so that they have cast me in their upcoming production of… wait for it… oh I forgot,  it’s in the title of the blog post.  Yeah it’s Songs For A New World.  Kind of ruined my build up there.  Anyway here is a picture.

Songs For A New World

oooooooo... we all look like grown ups.

For those of you not familiar with Songs For A New World it’s a musical/song cycle written for four people, by Jason Robert Brown.  A man famous for writing music so hard it could be used to bludgeon someone to death with & for insisting everyone use all three of his names even though they are almost always abbreviated to just JRB.  This is a production that I am super excited about.  I don’t mean that in the boring, almost sarcastic, Oh-I’m-super-excited kind of way.  I mean that in the traditional, wow-I-think-my-brain-just-exploded-from-too-much-excitement kind of way.  Obviously, performing with an exploded brain does present certain challenges but I’m willing to give it a go.  This is for several reasons.  1)  I get to work with some fantastic people. These guys are some of the best that Brisbane has to offer.  It even says so in this completely impartial article right here.  2)  I have wanted to perform in this musical since I first moved to Brisbane.  There was a production happening just after I arrived here & I was basically told not to bother auditioning.  My ego was sufficiently bruised. 3)  This production of Songs For A New World is going to be different for any other you have ever seen.  Before I auditioned for the role I spoke to a friend who had seen it.  She said she thought it worked better as individual songs rather than as a show.  After talking with our director Tim O’Connor at the first rehearsal yesterday, I can assure you that is not going to be the case when we do it.  He has ideas that are so far from left field they are practically in the right field of the next field over.  (Does that even make sense?) Whatever you think you know about the show should be left at the door.  Don’t worry we’re not going to be re-arranging the music or experimenting with the inclusion of a live rhinoceros.  Tim just has ideas to, without changing anything, give the show much more cohesion & take it in directions no one ever thought of or been brave enough to try. It’s difficult to explain without giving away spoilers but trust me, it’s good.  Of course the most important reason for me to be excited is reason number 4) MY MUMMY IS COMING TO WATCH ME!!!

In all seriousness though, working with three professionals such as these is terrifying & exhilarating all at once.  Aside from the fact that these guys have all worked together before, Luke Kennedy has toured the world with The Ten Tenors & Angela & Naomi are not only well known Brisbane performers but are both part of the singing sensation I raved so much about in my last post, The Divas, so they are all pretty much amahzing.  (Divas fans will get that.)  If you don’t believe me here are a few videos I prepared earlier.

Wow… did you hear those harmonies?!?!  What’s that?  Not enough?  Well check this out.

I have never heard that song sung anywhere else by anyone else but I’m pretty certain this is the greatest version ever.   If you still aren’t convinced then I can only suggest you head over to www.harvestrain.com.au & get yourself some tickets to Songs For A New World.  You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh at other people crying with laughter.  It’s going to be a fun sandwich.  I hope you’ll be part of it.

Are you coming to see the show?  Have you seen the show before?  Do you feel a live rhinoceros would help develop the characters?  Why not say so in the comments section below?

Unless there is a next time,
Goodbye forever.

Luke Venables
Official Star Trek Turtle Next Tester

2 Responses to “Songs For A New World: Reason For A New Blog Post”

  1. lequoise Says:

    I’m so excited! One of my favourite shows ever!

    We’ve got our very own special group booking and you can put some money on getting the biggest applause of the night, Mr V! Can’t wait to see what’s in store.

    …would we be able to ride the rhinoceros?

Leave a Reply

